Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey so I have a 2013 CTS V sedan. It is my first time owning a supercharged vehicle so I'm still getting used to it. Is it normal to hear a whine when I'm crusing at 50+ mph? I'm not even stepping on the gas and I can hear the faint whine. It usually comes around 50 mph or so. Well maintained low miles vehicle.

TIA

·
Registered
195 Posts
Hey so I have a 2013 CTS V sedan. It is my first time owning a supercharged vehicle so I'm still getting used to it. Is it normal to hear a whine when I'm crusing at 50+ mph? I'm not even stepping on the gas and I can hear the faint whine. It usually comes around 50 mph or so. Well maintained low miles vehicle.

TIA
If youre not stepping on the gas relatively hard you shouldnt be making boost. look at your boost gauge, is it 0? if so, you shouldnt hear a whine. also, im assuming you have been in boost before and thus heard the whine, are the sounds comparable?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If youre not stepping on the gas relatively hard you shouldnt be making boost. look at your boost gauge, is it 0? if so, you shouldnt hear a whine. also, im assuming you have been in boost before and thus heard the whine, are the sounds comparable?
Boost gauge reads 0. Yes I have stepped on it before the sound was louder. When im cruising at around 2k rpms its faint. I've heard its normal since the blower is still spinning.

·
Registered
2,967 Posts
Boost gauge reads 0. Yes I have stepped on it before the sound was louder. When im cruising at around 2k rpms its faint. I've heard its normal since the blower is still spinning.
Is the blower ported? My Jokerz has a whine/whistle at idle.

·
Super Moderator
21,515 Posts
You cam remove the belt and drive it to see if the sound goes away.

It could also be an idler pulley, though that is more of a squeak usually.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
30 Posts