Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
149 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Finally got a hood painted that has been sitting around in a box for over a year. I struck a deal with a local body shop that would paint the hood if I was comfortable owning the back half of the finishing work. I have zero body shop experience but wanted to take on the new challenge so I said sure why not.

I don't have pictures of the hood post spray but it had a bunch of micro raw defects in the clear coat. The paint had these tiny raised nibs or little pimples you could feel with your hand. I was reassured this was semi-normal and finishing solves all issues.

I have zero experience in a body shop, but have sprayed a bunch of random stuff in the past with a HVLP gun. I don't recall having these nibs when I sprayed stuff but whatever...

Tools utilized
  • Spray bottle + soapy water
  • 2000, 3000, 5000 sandpaper
  • GM clear coat touch up pen
  • 6” DA + 3" DA
  • m105 + m205
  • microfiber cutting pads + microfiber finishing pads
  • Griot foam finishing pad
  • Powerlock +
  • Collinite 845
  • Scangrip
The process condensed.

I sanded down most of the nibs with the 2000 grit and then spent a bunch of time running the 3000 & 5000 grit sandpaper over the entire hood. The entire sanding process took around 2-3 hours doing it by hand, nice and slow, in the same direction over and over again. With that said, the guys on YouTube blew through the wet sanding process with an orbital in under 5 minutes so YMMV. Again, no idea what I was doing outside of researching the web.