Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a question on the functionality of the blower. Whereas I am a noob to the CTS-V, I am not a noob to force feed engines. My question is concerning the boost gauge on the car. I thought this was a supercharged engine, and the boost would be the same no matter what is going on.

I learned a lot when I installed a turbo on my Harley. The volumetric efficiency of the naturally aspirated Harley engine is about the same as a Chevrolet V8. That is about 75%. I think the similar size of piston, stroke and valves must play a part in the similar numbers. The V.E. on a turbo engine varies, depending on the boost. When under full boost the V.E. reaches into the 90's% area. The top number is most likely dependent on the max boost. One big difference between a turbo engine and a supercharged engine is that the volumetric efficiency of a supercharged does not vary, and whatever it is, it is. Low RPM V.E. is the same as high RPM V.E.

Now I drive my V, and when I dare to glance at the gauge under WOT, the needle is moving. Why? Shouldn’t the boost with a blower be the same no matter what I am doing with the engine? Isn’t the blower a roots type screw that is increasing in RPM the same as the motor? What is telling the boost to increase? It is certainly not exhaust gasses, but then what is it?

Sorry if this is a noob question. Just curious. Thank you for enlightening me.

·
Flames R Us
921 Posts
A roots blower moves a specific amount of air per revolution. As you increase the motor RPM, the blower RPM increases. Pretty simple concept. The thing that isn't simple is how the engine ingests the air. As you valve timing varies, you will be pushing against those closed intake valves more at higher RPM. This is what causes the boost gauge to move. It shouldn't be significant, but it does happen.

·
Premium Member
1,357 Posts