Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Car has been idling rough at low RPM but when I get it up to 1,200 rpm or so it smooths right out. Thought it might be dirty injectors so I decided to take them out and give them a clean. Needless to say getting the rails and injectors out was a bitch because they are tucked under the edge of the super charger. I was able to get the retainer clips off and get everything out but is there a trick to putting it all back together? I didn't remove the rails from the car, maybe I should have? Should I put the clips on the injectors first, get them in position and then install the rail? Is it possible to get the rail in place with the injectors already clipped to it? Sorry, bit of a noob here but I don't want to screw this up.

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
Yeah you should just remove the rails and install the injectors on the rail prior to reinstalling everything. Makes it a lot easier.

WD 40 does the trick for lubing the injector orings nicely, though on the V they slip in pretty easily compared to some other vehicles I’ve worked on. Fuel injector shop told me the WD40 trick

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Premium Member
2,943 Posts
It's much easier installing the injectors to the supercharger when already on the fuel rail.
I lightly coat the o-rings with clean motor oil before install.

·
Premium Member
16,069 Posts
I just use water and soap to lube the injector o-rings before installing. You definitely have to spit on it and shove it in the hole.

Sent from my SM-G991U1 using Tapatalk

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I just use water and soap to lube the injector o-rings before installing. You definitely have to spit on it and shove it in the hole
Sound advice indeed...LOL

It just seems like there is very little room to angle the injectors into place when they are already attached to the rail. However, I will take your advice and push forward.

·