Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,496 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For the last 4-6 weeks, I'm been trying to resolve P0171 & P0174 codes but I'm running out of ideas and need some help. I know that typically when both these lean codes show up, unmetered air is entering the system through a common area.. i.e., not bank specific. This past weekend, I found a broken manifold bolt on the drivers side and a leak at the test pipe on the passenger side. I thought I found the smoking gun, fixed it but still no change. It was suggested to me that the O2's may be going bad (not heating up properly) but I replaced them about 20k miles ago and I wouldn't think they would both go bad at the same time and so soon. I have 106k miles on the V.

Symptoms:
Fuel trims on both banks are +25% at idle only. However, when at speed, they fall more into place... in the single digits +/-. I know my tune isn't great but I've been running it for the last 5+ years without a problem and old logs show 4% +/- at idle.

I have 2 logs from yesterday if anyone wants to take a look. 1 is on my way to work (7 miles, stop and go traffic) and the other is on my way home (light traffic, some freeway). Logs are in the Dropbox link below (HPT Version 4.4.4).

Any suggestions/ideas and what to check?

Stuff I checked:
Intake connection (G Force intake)
SC Bypass (holds vacuum) & related vacuum lines
PCV tubes - both valve covers and at the intake
Injector O rings
Lid rubber seal
Catch can connections and hoses
Brake booster & hose
Various lid & snout sensor O rings

Stuff I've Replaced
MAF O ring
Oil cap O ring
Valve cover gaskets & grommets
Valley cover intake
Intake gaskets
Test pipe steel gaskets

Mods:
ZL1 lid with phenolic spacer (thin RTV on the SC side)
Ported Snout w/ 2.5 pulley
Ported TB
G Force 4.5" intake (RTV'd PCV port tube)
BB Test pipes with Felpro steel gaskets, flat flange
ID850 injectors
NorCal SC tank
Catch can
Firecore wires