Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a pretty handy guy, and generally like to do my own maintenance, repairs, and mods. This is my first time really owning a nice car, and I want to do my absolute best to make sure that I keep these cars looking their absolute best. I've painted a car in the past and used my dad's old Milwaukee polisher (it's a heavy beast), to buff and polish the painted car. For my V Wagons, the TG car is in good shape, but spent it's life outside in the AZ sun. I'm planning on clay barring the car this weekend, but I think it'll take a bit more than a clay bar and wax to bring the paint back to like new. I know there are a lot of other options for buffing/polishing both in hardware and fluids. What would you guys recommend? I'd need to get a polisher/buffer (don't know if an orbital is the best device to use?) and what products and pads are the best and easiest to use? Figure I'm basically starting with nothing.

The black car has some really faint scratches, but overall the paint is in excellent shape. The Gray car is going to need more love, it's got some blotchiness, and some swirl marks in the paint.

Thanks,
Steve

·
Registered
2,369 Posts
If you can run a rotary well, you can use it for corrections. If you want an inexpensive DA, harbor freight. Its noisey, but it works. You can pack more grease in the bearings to help with the noise. If you want to spend some coin flex or rupes. Of course there are plenty of offerings in price points in between the 2 extremes like griot or porter cable.

I like menzerna polishes. For menzerna heavy cut 400 on a cutting pad. I prefer microfiber (either rupes or griot boss) for cutting, but foam (I use lake country orange) works fine too. I run super finish 3500 on a white LC polishing pad. Don’t be suprised if the 400 finishes out like a polish though.