Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just finished installing the Interceptor. A few thoughts on my situation. I def assumed that when I ordered it from WeaponX and they ask you to specify what car it's being installed in that it would've came with the V faceplate as shown in the pictures. It didn't. I also thought I remembered reading that it comes with a black bezel and a chrome bezel. It didn't. It only came with the black and white Aeroforce faceplates and the black bezel. Bummer. I wanted the V plate. But I am fine with the black bezel as that's the one I would've used anyways. HOWEVER... since I installed it in the clock location and couldn't see a simple no-mod way to install it without using the factory chrome clock bezel to hold it in place, the Aeroforce bezel didnn't get used anyways. The install was actually very simple, just tedious with the 500 small screws that need to be removed to separate the concole from the shiny face plate. The 1st two things I realized once it was installed and I turned the car on was 1: I want my clock back already lol. So I will DEF be ordering the defroster vent mount from OEMPROVEMENTS.COM because Im not willing to sacrifice or cut into my little change storage cubby. I just hope that doesn't introduce a sun glare issue on the gauge. And then I will also be able to use the nice black bezel. And 2: the gauge itself is SLOW AS SHIT when going through the initial menu setup. Like painfully slow. It's like "press the button, pause for 5 sec, press the button, pause for 5 sec, press the button, pause for 5 sec..." Ugh... So I'm hoping that's only when scrolling through the menu and not a telltale of the actual displayed info being on a 5+ sec delay. Ultimately I am happy with it so far. And once I dive into my next round of shop installed mods I will want to add the wideband sensor. And I'm not sure if the pieces that I mentioned not being included were my own misunderstanding or me getting slightly screwed over by WeaponX. I've heard good and bad about dealing with them. And I've personally experienced good and "meh" with them. So yeah... Any thoughts or info on the missing parts? How can I get the V plate? And any thoughts on the defroster vent mount I mentioned?
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It looks like you also have the Aeroforce faceplate. Was that by choice? Or am I just not aware that the V plate no longer a thing?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,119 Posts
It looks like you also have the Aeroforce faceplate. Was that by choice? Or am I just not aware that the V plate no longer a thing?
The V nameplate made no difference to me. I might be in the box for all I know.
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So it won't make the car faster? Lol. Just playing. I like it. So I'm gonna order the vent pod and a silver V plate from the Aeroforce website just to asthetical please my OCD. Apparently the Aeroforce vent mount still allows your defogger vent to function.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
13,406 Posts
the V plates from every vendor were always extra charge
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Yeah. It looks like all the asthetic accessories are $10 each. They have black, silver, red, carbon fiber, and some weird camo pattern. And you can get the bezels in black, polished silver, brushed silver, carbon fiber-ish, and that whack camo print. Now that I'm gonna be moving it to the vent pod and letting the OCD take the wheel I'm thinking I'm gonna get the black V face and the polished silver bezel so it looks stock like the rest of the gauges and trim in my interior.
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS V
Joined
·
96 Posts
I absolutely HATE not having a clock and continuously think about searching for one, or buying a new one. The aeroforce was already installed when I bought my V. I don't mind it at all, but I miss a clock feature. Unless someone knows how to change the temp at the top of pop up display to a clock... hmu! I also have a ngauge as well that's mounted at the vent now too. just bought a adapter thingy...hoping it works... someone from fb recommended it to link both at the same time so the aeroforce isn't dark and useless.
Plant Motor vehicle Automotive design Automotive tire Gauge Hand Hood Watch Motor vehicle Vehicle Font Line Cable Auto part Wire
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
I absolutely HATE not having a clock and continuously think about searching for one, or buying a new one. The aeroforce was already installed when I bought my V. I don't mind it at all, but I miss a clock feature. Unless someone knows how to change the temp at the top of pop up display to a clock... hmu! I also have a ngauge as well that's mounted at the vent now too. just bought a adapter thingy...hoping it works... someone from fb recommended it to link both at the same time so the aeroforce isn't dark and useless.
View attachment 153517 View attachment 153518 View attachment 153519
I'm pretty sure you could find a replacement clock on any gm parts site. Or maybe even ebay. And when I was browsing around on the Aeroforce website yesterday I saw a dual connection OBD cable. It's one OBD connector that splits to 2 gauge inputs. Otherwise, I use an OBD splitter (similar to the one you posted a pic of, except mine has one port right where it connects to the car and the other is at the end of an extension) to connect my Gauge and leaves an open OBD port for my OBDLink MX+ or just a normal OBD scanner if needed
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
I thought the same thing about the "slowness" of the gauge when I 1st installed it. The next day when I went to drive the car the gauge function properly and I was able to scroll normally! I Initially was going to use it in the clock location so I pulled all the trim pieces and wrapped them in carbon fiber (more power to those that do it for a living....that was a test of my patience lol), but there was a few days delay in shipping from Mont on the aeroforce so I just put everything back together and ordered the vent pod from oemprovement (quick shipping, responded quickly to my questions!). Very happy I went with the vent location to keep the clock.
Speedometer Vehicle Car Odometer Motor vehicle
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS V
Joined
·
96 Posts
I'm pretty sure you could find a replacement clock on any gm parts site. Or maybe even ebay. And when I was browsing around on the Aeroforce website yesterday I saw a dual connection OBD cable. It's one OBD connector that splits to 2 gauge inputs. Otherwise, I use an OBD splitter (similar to the one you posted a pic of, except mine has one port right where it connects to the car and the other is at the end of an extension) to connect my Gauge and leaves an open OBD port for my OBDLink MX+ or just a normal OBD scanner if needed
yeah it will work for now. i might cave and buy a clock.
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #17 ·
I guess I’m getting that mount since I have to install an AFR gauge so we can finish tuning my car :) I like my boost gauge in place of that useless clock. My phone has a clock


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I don't think it's necessary to move the gauge to hook up the wideband kit. I'm pretty sure you could keep it in the clock spot and just run the wires accordingly.
 

·
Registered
2013 CTS-V Coupe 6MT Silver/Black
Joined
·
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #18 ·

Mine came with both faceplates and both bezels


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And yes... I feel like I most likely got shorted a few accessories. But whatever. I just need to be more selective with what vendors I use. I'm just gonna order the face plates and chrome bezel with the vent mount.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
91 Posts
I don't think it's necessary to move the gauge to hook up the wideband kit. I'm pretty sure you could keep it in the clock spot and just run the wires accordingly.
Problem is I can’t data log annnnnd run the aeroforce gauge at the same time so I’m gonna have to wire up the one outa my R32 parts stash



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
91 Posts
I absolutely HATE not having a clock and continuously think about searching for one, or buying a new one. The aeroforce was already installed when I bought my V. I don't mind it at all, but I miss a clock feature. Unless someone knows how to change the temp at the top of pop up display to a clock... hmu! I also have a ngauge as well that's mounted at the vent now too. just bought a adapter thingy...hoping it works... someone from fb recommended it to link both at the same time so the aeroforce isn't dark and useless.
View attachment 153517 View attachment 153518 View attachment 153519
I mean u can always just say “hey Siri/bixby what time is it “


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top