Cadillac CTS-V Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
After trying to find some images of a V2 of a Automatic Trans Fluid change with zero luck, I decided to take some pictures while I was under the car today. While I have tons of experience doing engine builds and turning wrenches on other platforms, I have zero experience with this platform....if you see anything inccorect with the information below, please correct. From start to finish was 30min. If I had to use jack stands and a jack I would allocate 90 minutes.

****Do Not follow my steps, Read below to see my errors, will fix****

Steps:

1. Jack Car ( I used a lift)
2. Remove drain bolt and allow fluid to drain (see picture)

3. Remove the fill plug on the top of the trans oil pan (You can see below where the orange line goes into the fill port)

4. I used a transfer pump and pumped the remaining oil out of the bottom of the pan, I did not want to drop pan.

5. If you followed step 4 you will have to use more trans fluid than 6-7 quarts. Install the drain plug bolt back until snug.
6. Pump in new fluid until it seeps from the fill port (This took me 8-9 Quarts)
7. Start Car and place emergency brake on (Let transmission temperature come up to over 150)
8. Proceed to fill the fill port with more fluid until it seeps again from fill port (This took me 1 Quart)
9. Install Fill Plug and your finished!

*Warning* I don't know what those two big silver pipes running on either side of the trans oil pan that lead out to the rear of the cars bumper but they get very hot even after letting the car Idle for 5 min :(.

Hope this helps and shows people that this is super easy to do and minimal tools are necessary.

·
Registered
5,645 Posts
mmm, when you said pump new fluid until it seeps from the fill port. Are you talking about he fill port on the side of the trans, or the drain plug?

The car is suppose to be in gear when you fill the trans, also at temperature.

·