Remote start/ non-remote start difference
Welcome to the Cadillac CTS-V Forum at CTSVOwners.com.
Results 1 to 26 of 26
Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By Mikeyboyeee
  • 1 Post By Bakerboy89
  • 1 Post By Bakerboy89

Thread: Remote start/ non-remote start difference

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0

    Remote start/ non-remote start difference

    I have a 2013 CTSV sedan A6 without remote start and was wondering what has to be done to have factory remote start added to my car!

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,412
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    21
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    You sure you don't have remote start? Press door lock on key fob, then button underneath 2 xs?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    Airaid w/Green Filter
    Mamo Ported LSA TB
    2.45 Griptech - Green Belt
    LPE Solid Iso
    FIC 1000
    402 Flex Fuel Sensor
    DMS Fuel Filter
    Tr7ix Plugs
    160 Tstat
    Kraftworks underhood Expansion Tank
    Varimax Pump
    B7B Test Pipes
    QTP Cutouts

    Adding Vadder Destroyer when back in Stock

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    674
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    3
    I thought remote start came standard on all V's

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CTSVOwners.com
    Advertisements

  5. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Dallas
    Posts
    674
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    9
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    You sure you don't have remote start? Press door lock on key fob, then button underneath 2 xs?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    You press yours 2 times? I have to hold the bottom down till I see my lights blink then it starts

  6. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    10
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    I have to press door lock twice and then start button.

  7. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    10
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Can use the OnStar app to. I got the basic plan for three year for free because the car was new to me.

  8. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hurst TX
    Posts
    984
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    8
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by 07xln View Post
    I thought remote start came standard on all V's
    Unless it's a manual.

    Edit didn't really read all the OP. Missed the A6 it's early lol.
    ID850's, 2.4 upper, Track Attack HX, Varimax pump, ZL1 Lid, Texas Speed headers, Airaid with green filter, Moroso catch can, LPE tank, PLX wideband, tuned by Pat G.

  9. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Hurst TX
    Posts
    984
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    8
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    You have remote start as it was standard on A6 cars. A few things though. First it won't work with any CIL on as well if the hood is open and i think if the low fuel light is on.

    You have to press the lock button first before holding the start button which is the button with the circle on it. It is also possible someone replaced a remote and bought the wrong one without remote start.
    ID850's, 2.4 upper, Track Attack HX, Varimax pump, ZL1 Lid, Texas Speed headers, Airaid with green filter, Moroso catch can, LPE tank, PLX wideband, tuned by Pat G.

  10. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    You sure you don't have remote start? Press door lock on key fob, then button underneath 2 xs?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    I don't have that button on my remote. Only have unlock, lock, the trunk open button and the horn button

  11. #10
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,412
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    21
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Bakerboy89 View Post
    I don't have that button on my remote. Only have unlock, lock, the trunk open button and the horn button

    You need to get the correct fobs then.

    You can also sign up for Onstar or my.cadillac.com and remote start with the app on your phone.
    MYV likes this.
    Airaid w/Green Filter
    Mamo Ported LSA TB
    2.45 Griptech - Green Belt
    LPE Solid Iso
    FIC 1000
    402 Flex Fuel Sensor
    DMS Fuel Filter
    Tr7ix Plugs
    160 Tstat
    Kraftworks underhood Expansion Tank
    Varimax Pump
    B7B Test Pipes
    QTP Cutouts

    Adding Vadder Destroyer when back in Stock

  12. #11
    Vendor
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    10,528
    Likes (Given)
    249
    Likes (Received)
    183
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    3
    All A6s I have seen have remote start, though it may not work if there are codes present.

  13. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremyctsv View Post
    Can use the OnStar app to. I got the basic plan for three year for free because the car was new to me.
    I plan on getting it too, but want to have it on the key fob too

  14. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bakerboy89 View Post
    I don't have that button on my remote. Only have unlock, lock, the trunk open button and the horn button

    You need to get the correct fobs then.

    You can also sign up for Onstar or my.cadillac.com and remote start with the app on your phone.
    Easy enough then lol. I was unaware if they all came with it or not. I just bought the car about a month and a half ago, and it came with one Cadillac fob, so I assumed it was a factory one for the car. Guess i will order a fob with remote start and program it to the car and see if that works!! Thanks for the info!!

  15. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by ASteggall View Post
    You have remote start as it was standard on A6 cars. A few things though. First it won't work with any CIL on as well if the hood is open and i think if the low fuel light is on.

    You have to press the lock button first before holding the start button which is the button with the circle on it. It is also possible someone replaced a remote and bought the wrong one without remote start.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lt1z View Post
    All A6s I have seen have remote start, though it may not work if there are codes present.
    Thanks guys! I guess my car came with the wrong fob from the previous owner, and it doesn't have it on it so I assumed it didn't have it. Thanks for the info guys!
    Mikeyboyeee likes this.

  16. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    23
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    You sure you don't have remote start? Press door lock on key fob, then button underneath 2 xs?

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    Quote Originally Posted by 07xln View Post
    I thought remote start came standard on all V's
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeremyctsv View Post
    Can use the OnStar app to. I got the basic plan for three year for free because the car was new to me.
    Quote Originally Posted by ASteggall View Post
    You have remote start as it was standard on A6 cars. A few things though. First it won't work with any CIL on as well if the hood is open and i think if the low fuel light is on.

    You have to press the lock button first before holding the start button which is the button with the circle on it. It is also possible someone replaced a remote and bought the wrong one without remote start.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Bakerboy89 View Post
    I don't have that button on my remote. Only have unlock, lock, the trunk open button and the horn button

    You need to get the correct fobs then.

    You can also sign up for Onstar or my.cadillac.com and remote start with the app on your phone.
    Quote Originally Posted by Lt1z View Post
    All A6s I have seen have remote start, though it may not work if there are codes present.
    Thanks everybody for the input!! I went to Cadillac yesterday and had them run the vin#, and it said it had it so I bought a new fob and brought her home and programmed it to the car. And bam, fores right up!! Thanks again!!!
    Wrecked Em likes this.

  17. #16
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,412
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    21
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Don't foeget to download the app at my.Cadillac.com or onstar to be able to start or unlock from your phone
    Airaid w/Green Filter
    Mamo Ported LSA TB
    2.45 Griptech - Green Belt
    LPE Solid Iso
    FIC 1000
    402 Flex Fuel Sensor
    DMS Fuel Filter
    Tr7ix Plugs
    160 Tstat
    Kraftworks underhood Expansion Tank
    Varimax Pump
    B7B Test Pipes
    QTP Cutouts

    Adding Vadder Destroyer when back in Stock

  18. #17
    Active Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    51
    Likes (Given)
    1
    Likes (Received)
    0
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    Don't foeget to download the app at my.Cadillac.com or onstar to be able to start or unlock from your phone
    Do you have to have an onstar subscription to access this feature?

  19. #18
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,588
    Likes (Given)
    694
    Likes (Received)
    338
    I call BS (Given)
    46
    I call BS (Received)
    8
    next you will tell us your gear shifter doesnt illuminate

  20. #19
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Franklin Tennessee
    Posts
    794
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    34
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by seawolf06 View Post
    Do you have to have an onstar subscription to access this feature?
    ^ This. I downloaded the app and added an account with my VIN, but don't see anywhere I can remote start or lock from it

    Looked further and it seems I can get OnStar free for 3 years.....
    Last edited by GalgoMoto; Yesterday at 01:49 PM.

  21. #20
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,412
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    21
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by seawolf06 View Post
    Do you have to have an onstar subscription to access this feature?
    No, but you have to sign up for the onstar account. Free gives you remote start/stop, lock/unlock doors, Horns/lights (panic feature).
    Airaid w/Green Filter
    Mamo Ported LSA TB
    2.45 Griptech - Green Belt
    LPE Solid Iso
    FIC 1000
    402 Flex Fuel Sensor
    DMS Fuel Filter
    Tr7ix Plugs
    160 Tstat
    Kraftworks underhood Expansion Tank
    Varimax Pump
    B7B Test Pipes
    QTP Cutouts

    Adding Vadder Destroyer when back in Stock

  22. #21
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,412
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    21
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by GalgoMoto View Post
    ^ This. I downloaded the app and added an account with my VIN, but don't see anywhere I can remote start or lock from it

    Looked further and it seems I can get OnStar free for 3 years.....
    It's in Key fob

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    Airaid w/Green Filter
    Mamo Ported LSA TB
    2.45 Griptech - Green Belt
    LPE Solid Iso
    FIC 1000
    402 Flex Fuel Sensor
    DMS Fuel Filter
    Tr7ix Plugs
    160 Tstat
    Kraftworks underhood Expansion Tank
    Varimax Pump
    B7B Test Pipes
    QTP Cutouts

    Adding Vadder Destroyer when back in Stock

  23. #22
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Franklin Tennessee
    Posts
    794
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    34
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    The key fob option isn't listed on mine.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  24. #23
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,588
    Likes (Given)
    694
    Likes (Received)
    338
    I call BS (Given)
    46
    I call BS (Received)
    8
    starting the car from the app you probably have to pay for something, they aint giving that away for free on a 7 year old car

  25. #24
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1,412
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    21
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by RobF300 View Post
    starting the car from the app you probably have to pay for something, they aint giving that away for free on a 7 year old car
    I don't pay for it. And my free 1 yr subscription is over already. Maybe it's a certain year and above.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    Airaid w/Green Filter
    Mamo Ported LSA TB
    2.45 Griptech - Green Belt
    LPE Solid Iso
    FIC 1000
    402 Flex Fuel Sensor
    DMS Fuel Filter
    Tr7ix Plugs
    160 Tstat
    Kraftworks underhood Expansion Tank
    Varimax Pump
    B7B Test Pipes
    QTP Cutouts

    Adding Vadder Destroyer when back in Stock

  26. #25
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Location
    Franklin Tennessee
    Posts
    794
    Likes (Given)
    0
    Likes (Received)
    34
    I call BS (Given)
    0
    I call BS (Received)
    0
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    I don't pay for it. And my free 1 yr subscription is over already. Maybe it's a certain year and above.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    I may delete and re-download the app. I can't get the key fob section to pop up....

  27. #26
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Long Island, NY
    Posts
    9,588
    Likes (Given)
    694
    Likes (Received)
    338
    I call BS (Given)
    46
    I call BS (Received)
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikeyboyeee View Post
    I don't pay for it. And my free 1 yr subscription is over already. Maybe it's a certain year and above.

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    GM doesnt give anything away for free, dont speak of it any longer before someone messes it up for you

    they wont even unlock your car if you are 1 month out of on star I doubt they are going to let you start your car from a free app


Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)